32nd International Conference of
Agricultural Economists

Transformation Towards Sustainable Agri-Food Systems

NASC Complex, New Delhi, India | August 2-7, 2024


The submission deadline was 15 January 2024. The submission system is now closed

This award is named after the late Dr. Carl K. Eicher to honor his outstanding contributions to African agricultural research and education. It was established by family, friends, and colleagues of the late Carl K. Eicher under the IAAE to support an award for the best doctoral dissertation in our discipline on topics related to African development. The 2024 award will be made at the International Conference of Agricultural Economists (ICAE 2024), taking place in New Delhi, India, 2-8 August 2024. The award consists of a certificate, cash prize of US $1000, and partial travel support to attend ICAE 2024. The IAAE is now calling for nominations for this award.

Any department of agricultural economics (under any name variant) or department of economics or allied discipline with a specialization in agricultural economics can present nominations. The deadline for submission is 11:59 p.m. GMT on January 15, 2024. In order to submit nominations, please adhere to the following guidelines:

  1. Nominations should be made by either the chair of the department or the principal supervisor of the nominee. All doctoral dissertations relating to agricultural economics applied to an African problem are eligible.

  2. Doctoral dissertations must have been completed during the years 2021, 2022, or 2023.

  3. Each nomination must include a cover memo of a maximum of two pages on why the dissertation has been selected for nomination. The cover memo should also state which papers of the dissertation (if any) were published in which journals.

  4. Each nomination must include a pdf file of the dissertation.

  5. Nominators MUST provide the IAAE with the name and email contact of at least one recognized agricultural economist who has agreed to serve as a member of the review committee to select the winning entry. The named person should not be one of the nominee’s supervisors.

  6. The coordinator of the 2024 Carl K. Eicher Award is Dr. Tahirou Abdoulaye from the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA). Nominations should be sent to him by email (t.abdoulaye@cgiar.org) by 11:59 PM GMT on January 15, 2024.

Youtube X/Twitter LinkedIn